What does this mean for me?
This means the duplicate payment will be automatically credited back to your account within 3-5 business days.
Just to be sure, please log in to your account and go to 'Order History'. If there are two orders reflecting in your account, then this means that you have placed the order twice. Please get in touch with the restaurant to cancel one of them. If this isn't the case then the duplicate payment will be automatically credited back by your own bank within 3-5 working days.
How did this happen?
While placing an order through the Takeaway website or app, sometimes you might be charged twice. This scenario occurs very rarely and is usually due to internet connectivity issues or server latency problems between the banks. When you check your bank statement, it will show as pending. This is often known as a shadow payment in the banking sector.
*Please note: All payments placed through the Takeaway site will show on your bank as Datman LTD or takeaway.je